6 Years

Today makes 6 years since we’ve last hugged. My heart, it hurts. The last time we were all together Lucas begged not to have to go. I promised him I’d see him the next week.

If I had known then it would be the last time I was going to be able to hold him I would have refused to let go just as much as he did. I wouldn’t have made him stop clinging to my neck no matter how much your father or anyone else insisted. I would have let him hold on tight forever.

Live isn’t supposed to be this way. It would be so easy to give up, to do nothing, to use all this trauma as an excuse, but you all deserve a better role model than that. So today I got up, I helped people, and I did my small part to make a difference. Make no mistake though, the significance of the day weighed on me.

Author: Debbie

I am a mom first and foremost. Not a day goes by that I don't think about my babies. Not a decision is made in my life without wondering how it will effect them. I'm not perfect by any means but I always try to be the best role model that I can be to them.

Leave a comment